Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Kayla Watson represents BRCC on All Louisiana Teams

Kayla Watson represents BRCC on All Louisiana Teams

April 12, 2019: Women's Basketball

Baton Rouge La. – Baton Rouge Community College sophomore guard Kayla Watson was named to the 2018-19 Louisiana Sports Writers Association (LSWA) Women's Basketball Teams, which were released by the LSWA on Saturday.

Watson, a Amite native, was an honorable mention selection.  This postseason honor was just the latest in a long line of awards Kayla has received this season.  She was previously named LCCAC player of the year, First Team all LCCAC and an All Region 23 Team selection.

Watson led the Lady Bears this season in scoring with 17.5 ppg.  She also led the Lady Bears in assist with 2 per game, steals with 3.8 per game and rebounds with 6.6 per game.  Kayla will be continuing her playing career at Southern University.

Also named as a honorable mention selection was former Lady Bear and current Southeastern Lion Celica Sterling.

The All-Louisiana teams were selected by the state's sports information directors and select media members.
2018-19 LSWA Women's Basketball Teams
Player of the Year: Cassidy Barrios, Nicholls
Freshman of the Year: Kelsey Thaxton, LSU-Alexandria
Newcomer of the Year: Jas Hill, Xavier
Coach of the Year: Bo Browder, Xavier
First Team
Cassidy Barrios, Nicholls
Kierra Anthony, Louisiana Tech
Shakyla Hill, Grambling
Ayana Mitchell, LSU
Danyale Bayonee, LSU-Alexandria
Second Team
Krystal Freeman, Tulane
Jas Hill, Xavier
Monette Bolden, Bossier Parish CC
Alyssa Washington, Dillard
Kelsey Thaxton, LSU-Alexandria
Third Team
Khayla Pointer, LSU
Shania Woods, New Orleans
Kalia Anthony, Loyola
Arsula Clark, ULM
Brandi Williams, UL Lafayette
Honorable Mention: Celica Sterling, Southeastern Louisiana; Kayla Watson, BRCC; Ty'Reona Doucet, UL Lafayette; Megan Worry, Loyola.